My Favorite Travel Apps

There is much debate whether technology belongs on a camping trip. I have friends who emulate space shuttle pilots more than Daniel Boone on the trail but I have to admit there are many times on a trip or adventure when the smartypants little gadgets lend a hand. Smart phones are now capable of using thousands of apps but these 5 are the few that I believe truly come in handy

Nike + GPS

I love my backyard: the Sierra Nevada Foothills. I adore every path that leads me into a new direction; getting lost for miles, then somehow always winding up at the river or downtown NC. However, as thrilling as the Foothills can be, sometimes my motivation lacks and getting lost is the last thing on my to-do list. This lil’ app not only maps your way, and has an installed GPS system, but also urges you around (and allows for your Facebook friends to help motivate you on your way). It calibrates your pace letting you know how far and how fast you are going.

The Northface Trailhead

A friend showed me this one and I thought it was pretty slick. This app marks your trails then allows for people to view, use, and rate your trails. Also, they can leave comments for tips, tricks, and warnings. You can also search for new trails in your surrounding area. If you are up to purchasing new gear, you can do that too, all from your phone.

Bing Maps

I don’t know what people did before this. Regular maps I guess?  Bing maps, in my opinion, is the best mapping app out there. It targets your exact current location then provides you with precise directions to your destination. If you are lost their advanced mapping systems find you, then maps your way home. It also remembers your most recent locations, and allows you to “drop pin” to mark areas of interest.

Weatherbug

Although spring is a beautiful time of year, it can switch in a heartbeat. One minute it is smiling sunshine then hail in your face. Weatherbug offers live, local weather conditions and forecasts, National Weather Service alerts, live weather cameras, time-lapse weather camera animation, “drop pin” current weather conditions, and severe weather warnings.

YELP

Yelp is a great app for a traveler that needs to eat ( or drink) and needs to at a great place asap. This app offers a search that pinpoints price, location, and type, while also delivering directions (with varying modes of transportation offered) and provides ratings and comments. Yelp offers pictures and links. I’ve found the user reviews very helpful and would rather get third party opinions than an establishments own website.

About mulinski

MBA Graduate Student at the University of Nevada, Reno
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment